Orchestre Métropolitain presents

Grimaud and Nézet-Séguin: Shared Emotions

Love and death

In his twilight years, Bartók composed his Piano Concerto No. 3 as a kind of love letter to his wife. Hélène Grimaud and Yannick Nézet-Séguin immerse us in the composer’s deep and loving intimacy. The Orchestre Métropolitain then performs Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, a work that, while reflecting the torments of an artist facing illness, remains a remarkable ode to life.

Grimaud and Nézet-Séguin

Hélène Grimaud
She could be called a Renaissance woman for our times. Hélène Grimaud is not just a deeply passionate and committed musical artist whose pianistic accomplishments play a central role in her life. She is a woman with multiple talents that extend far beyond the instrument she plays with such poetic expression and peerless technical control. The French artist has established herself as a committed wildlife conservationist, a compassionate human rights activist and as a writer.

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor
Hélène Grimaud, piano

Bartók, Piano Concerto No. 3
Mahler, Symphony No. 5

For more information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112


Related Posts