Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Zimmermann and Brahms’ Masterful Violin Concerto

Frank Peter Zimmermann, one of the greatest violinists of our time, performs Brahms’ quasi-symphonic Violin Concerto, in which the orchestra and the soloist engage in dialogue as equal partners. Here, the violin, with its high-energy gusto, spurs the orchestra to a playful, Romani-inspired finale. A contemporary of Brahms, Emilie Mayer, a composer well worth discovering, expresses her fascinating musical personality in her Symphony no. 7, a highly original work replete with surges of passion.

Praised for his selfless musicality, his brilliance and keen intelligence, Zimmermann has been performing with major orchestras all over the world for well over three decades, collaborating on these occasions with the world’s most renowned conductors.

Born in 1965 in Duisburg, Germany, he started playing the violin when he was 5 years old, giving his first concert with orchestra at the age of 10. He studied with Valery Gradov, Saschko Gawriloff and Herman Krebbers.

BRAHMS, Tragic Overture, op. 81 (13 min.)
Emilie MAYER, Symphony no. 7 in F minor (30 min.)
BRAHMS, Violin Concerto in D major, op. 77 (38 min.)

Maison symphonique
Tuesday, April 30, 2024 at 7:30pm
Thursday, May 2, 2024 at 7:30pm
Pre-concert at 6:30pm: a recital will be presented before the concert. All ticket holders are welcome! (duration: 30 minutes)

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com