Orchestre Métropolitain presents

Kerson Leong: Daydream

Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune may be the most poetic and evocative work ever written. Inspired by Mallarmé’s poem conjuring up a moment in the life of a faun, the piece casts a spell from the first entry of the solo flute, due partly to its melodic appeal but mainly to the delicate yet powerful colours it unfurls. Korngold’s lush and lyrical Violin Concerto comes to life under the bow of violinist Kerson Leong, whom the Orchestra welcomes as its soloist in residence. Kensho Watanabe, the assistant conductor of The Philadelphia Orchestra, leads this concert, which also includes Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 1, one of the composer’s most refined.

DEBUSSY: Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
KORNGOLD: Violin Concerto
RAVEL: Le Tombeau de Couperin
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 1

Preconcert talks
Mario F. Paquet invites the public to discover the works on the program during a free 30-minute bilingual chat with the concert players.

Young Music Lovers Preludes
A musical performance by young musicians takes place in the Foyer Allegro 30 minutes before the beginning of the concert.

For information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112