Winter Evenings

Conductor: Kensho Watanabe 
Cello: Stéphane Tétreault

Corelli: Concerto Grosso, Op. 6, No. 8 “The Christmas Concerto”
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1 “Winter Dreams”

As a prelude to winter, the Orchestre Métropolitain will celebrate the music of Corelli and Tchaikovsky in its Winter Evenings concert. The remarkable cellist Stéphane Tétreault, our first ever Soloist-in-Residence and an audience favourite, joins him in a performance of the famous Variations on a Rococo Theme. The program will be conducted by Kensho Watanabe, who will be replacing Alexandre Bloch, originally scheduled to appear. Kensho, who completed his studies in Conducting at the Curtis Institute of Music, has benefitted from the mentorship of maestro Yannick Nézet-Séguin for over two years.

Kensho Watanabe, from Philadelphia, PA, received a diploma in 2013 from the Curtis Institute of Music, where he studied with distinguished conducting pedagogue Otto-Werner Mueller. He returned to Curtis in the fall of 2013 as the school’s inaugural Rita E. Hauser Conducting Fellow, under the mentorship of Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Recent conducting experiences include appearances with the Alabama Symphony Orchestra, Eastern Connecticut Symphony Orchestra, and the Curtis Symphony Orchestra. Kensho has participated in masterclasses with conductors including David Amado, Giancarlo Guerrero, Michael Jinbo, Vladimir Jurowski, Lorin Maazel, and Robert Spano.

Kensho received his BS in Biology from Yale College and a MM in Violin from the Yale School of Music. He performs regularly with the Philadelphia Orchestra as a substitute violinist, and spends his summers at the Greenwood Music Camp, where he serves as Orchestra Conductor.

For tickets and information:  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112