Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Bach and Glass on the Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique

From florid counterpoint to the vast spaces of minimalism, Bach and Glass share the bill in this concert highlighting a dialogue between these two major composers. Latvian musician and titular organist of the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Iveta Apkalna takes us on an edifying journey to the heart of a world she commands at her fingertips. This will be her first appearance at the OSM’s Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique.

Latvian organist Iveta Apkalna is considered one of the leading instrumentalists in the world. Since Iveta Apkalna’s debut with the Berlin Philharmonic under the baton of Claudio Abbado in 2007 she has performed with a number of the world’s top orchestras including the Bavarian Radio Symphony, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, the Cleveland Orchestra and the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. She has collaborated with renowned conductors such as the late Mariss Jansons, Marek Janowski, Kent Nagano, Thomas Hengelbrock, Gustavo Dudamel, Sir Antonio Pappano and Andris Nelsons and frequently appeared at the Lucerne Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Ludwigsburg Castle Festival and Schleswig-Holstein Festival.

Recitals this season include performances at the Konzerthaus Dortmund, the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, the Royal Festival Hall London, the Konzerthaus Vienna, in Montréal and Lyon, among others.

Throughout her career, Iveta Apkalna has earned international recognition for honours and competitions. In 2018 and in 2020 she awarded the “Latvian Grand Music Award”, the most prestigious award in music in Latvia, in the category “Concert of the Year”. On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Latvia, Iveta Apkalna was awarded the “Order of the Three Stars”, the highest civilian order awarded for meritorious service to Latvia by the state president. Furthermore, she was appointed cultural ambassador of Latvia by receiving the “Excellence Award in Culture 2015” from the Latvian Ministry of Culture. French-German TV network ARTE broadcast in 2008 a documentary about her titled “Dancing with the Organ”. Iveta Apkalna became the first organist to receive the title of “Best Performing Artist” award at the 2005 ECHO Klassik.

Philip Glass, Satyagraha, Act III: “Conclusion” (arr. M. Riesman, 9 min)
J.S. Bach, Fantasia in G major, BWV 572 (9 min)
Philip Glass, Music in Contrary Motion (9 min)
J.S. Bach, Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 582 (15 min)
J.S. Bach, Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C major, BWV 564 (14 min)
Philip Glass, Mad Rush (15 min)
J.S. Bach, The Musical Offering, BWV 1079: “Ricercar a 6” (8 min)

Maison symphonique
Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 2:30pm
To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com