Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Beethoven’s Poetic Fourth Piano Concerto

Renowned for her exquisite artistry and refined technique, pianist Maria João Pires is back with the OSM to perform Beethoven’s Concerto no. 4, that decidedly singular masterpiece of the piano repertoire. This program also celebrates the 150th anniversary of Schoenberg’s birth with two of the composer’s post-Romantic works: the eminently lyrical tone poem Transfigured Night, and Pelleas und Melisande, with its impressive aural density amplified by powerful dramatic tension.

Maria João Pires, piano

Born in 1944 in Lisbon, Maria João Pires gave her first public performance at the age of 4 and began her studies of music and piano with Campos Coelho and Francine Benoît, continuing later in Germany, with Rosl Schmid and Karl Engel. In addition to her concerts, she has made recordings for Erato for fifteen years and Deutsche Grammophon for twenty years.

​Since the 1970s, she has devoted herself to reflecting the influence of art in life, community and education, trying to discover new ways of establishing this way of thinking in society. She has searched for new ways which, respecting the development of individuals and cultures, encourage the sharing of ideas.

In 1999, she created the Belgais Centre for the Study of the Arts in Portugal. Maria João Pires regularly offers interdisciplinary workshops for professional musicians and music lovers. In the Belgais concert hall concerts and recordings regularly take place. In future these will be shared with the international digital community (pay and non-pay).

In 2012, in Belgium, she initiated two complementary projects; the Partitura Choirs, a project which creates and develops choirs for children from disadvantaged backgrounds as in Belgium the „Hesperos Choir, and the Partitura Workshops. All of the Partitura projects have the aim to create an altruistic dynamic between artists of different generations by proposing an alternative in a world too often focused on competitiveness. This philosophy is being spread worldwide at Partitura projects and workshops.

SCHOENBERG, Verklärte Nacht [Transfigured Night], op. 4
BEETHOVEN, Piano Concerto no. 4 in G major, op. 58
SCHOENBERG, Pelleas und Melisande, symphonic poem, op. 5 (41 min.)

Maison symphonique
Wednesday, April 24, 2024 at 7:30pm
Thursday, April 25, 2024 at 7:30pm

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com