Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Shostakovich and Ravel Envisioned by Rafael Payare

The sublime orchestration and great arches of sound of Elysium by Moussa conjure up the timeless paradise of Greek Antiquity. Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson performs Ravel’s Concerto in G, a dazzling, meditative, jazz-tinted work that is both light and brilliant. Then, the atmosphere drastically changes in the concert’s second half with Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, haunted by the spectre of Stalin.

Samy Moussa, Elysium (12 min.)

Artist-in-Residence of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Samy Moussa, Canadian composer and conductor, was born in Montreal in 1984. Based in Germany for over a decade, he maintains close connections with his North American roots, particularly with l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and l’Orchestre Symphonique de Québec.

Ravel, Piano Concerto in G major (23 min.)
Shostakovich, Symphony no. 10 in E minor, op. 93 (57 min.)

Pre-concert Talk on October 13 at 6:30pm
Ticket holders welcome!
Hosted by: Katerine Verebely
Guests: Sébastien Almon + a musician
Duration: 30 minutes

Maison symphonique
To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com