Carnegie Hall Fridays, in partnership between Carnegie Hall and, presents the

New York Philharmonic

(Original performance date: October 7, 2015)

Carnegie Hall opens its 125th anniversary season with a thrilling evening of classical works and a world premiere performed by the fantastic New York Philharmonic and piano virtuoso Evgeny Kissin under the baton of Alan Gilbert.

This opening night at Carnegie Hall will be one to remember. Carnegie Hall co-commissioned a work from Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg, formerly the New York Philharmonic’s Marie-Josée Kravis Composer-in-Residence. Receiving its world premiere performance, Vivo (subtitled “Concert Opener for Orchestra”) was written in tribute to Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé, a symphonic piece also featured in the evening’s program.

Following Vivo, the New York Philharmonic will be joined by Evgeny Kissin for Tchaikovsky’s immortal Piano Concerto No. 1. Completed in 1875 and revised in 1889, the concerto was supposed to be dedicated to the famous piano virtuoso Nikolai Rubinstein, Tchaikovsky’s close friend. The pianist, however, disliked it so much when he heard it the first time that Tchaikovsky chose to dedicate it to someone else. Though understandably shaken by his friend’s criticism, the composer vowed, “I won’t change a single note.” The concerto’s immediate success forced Rubinstein to admit his mistake, eventually becoming one of the best performers of the concerto. Tonight, Evgeny Kissin steps perfectly into his shoes.

The New York Philharmonic ends the concert with the Daphnis et Chloé Suite No. 2, extracted from Ravel’s score for the one-act ballet based on the adaptation by Greek writer Longus. In this second suite, the composer incorporates sections of the ballet that have principally to do with celebration—a perfect close for this festive event.

New York Philharmonic
Alan Gilbert, Music Director and Conductor
Evgeny Kissin, Piano

MAGNUS LINDBERG Vivo (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1
RAVEL Daphnis et Chloé Suite No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY Méditation, Op. 72, No. 5

Carnegie Hall Fridays
The partnership between Carnegie Hall and presents: Carnegie Hall Fridays, a new limited streaming series. Each Friday, a new selection from the archive of live broadcasts will be made available for on-demand streaming free of charge. Each program will be accessible throughout the weekend for 72 hours—from Friday at 3 AM through Monday at 3 AM (Eastern). Webcasts on

Related Posts