Haydn has been credited with inventing the string quartet, and serves as the central figure of this all-Viennese programme in which two quartets composed and dedicated to him by Mozart are appropriately paired with a third quartet by Haydn himself.

Founded in 1985, the Austrian Quatuor Mosaïques is considered as one of the most prominent string quartets performing on period instruments today. The ensemble specializes in the works of the Viennese Classical masters.

Erich Höbarth, violin
Andrea Bischof, violin
Anita Mitterer, viola
Christophe Coin, cello

MOZART String Quartet No. 15 in D minor, K. 421
MOZART String Quartet No. 17 in B-flat major, K. 458, “The  Hunt”
HAYDN String Quartet No. 25 in C major, Op. 20, No. 2

For tickets and information: www.mbam.qc.ca/en/concerts 514-285-2000

Bourgie Concert Hall, at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA) complex, is a 444-seat venue located in the restored Erskine and American Church (designed in 1894 in Neo-Romanesque style by architect Alexander Cowper Hutchison). Designated a national historic site in 1998, the transformed setting is now graced with high-quality acoustics and an exceptional décor incorporating 20 historic Tiffany stained glass windows. Ideal for performances by chamber-music ensembles, string orchestras, and other groups, Bourgie Concert Hall offer music lovers an auditory repertoire as diverse as the MMFA collections

Bourgie Concert Hall
1339 Sherbrooke Street West,
Montreal, Quebec
H3G 2E8

Related Posts