Wigmore Hall presents

Benedetti Elschenbroich Grynyuk Trio

A ‘trio of true stars’ (Daily Telegraph) made up of violinist Nicola Benedetti (recently awarded Instrumentalist of the Year at the Royal Philharmonic Society Awards at Wigmore Hall), cellist Leonard Elschenbroich and pianist Alexei Grynyuk has now been performing for more than ten years. Their program includes one of the leading German contemporary composer’s Strange Scenes, which pays tribute to Schumann and Brahms and dates from 1983-4.

Benedetti Elschenbroich Grynyuk Trio
Nicola Benedetti violin
Leonard Elschenbroich cello
Alexei Grynyuk piano

Each acclaimed as leading soloists of their generation, violinist Nicola Benedetti, cellist Leonard Elschenbroich and pianist Alexei Grynyuk have been performing together as a trio since they met as young music students in London. While attending the Menuhin School, Benedetti and Elschenbroich played chamber music together and later met Alexei Grynyuk, who was studying at the Royal Academy of Music. They made their debut as a trio in the 2009/2010 season with multiple concerts in the UK and at Schloss Elmau in Germany. Since then, Benedetti, Elschenbroich and Grynyuk have maintained their passionate commitment to chamber music with their regular and compelling performances at prestigious concert halls around the world.

The trio’s recent highlights include performances at the Royal Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Royal Albert Hall, London, Birmingham, Symphony Hall, LSO St Luke’s, Frankfurt, Alte Oper, Die Glocke, Bremen, Hong Kong City Hall, two tours of South America, and an extensive tour of Scotland including concerts at the Usher Hall, Edinburgh and Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow. Festival appearances include Ravinia, Gergiev, Istanbul, Cheltenham and Edinburgh International.

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor Op. 63
Wolfgang Rihm (b.1952)
Fremde Szene III
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Piano Trio No. 1 in B Op. 8

Thursday, February 24, 2022
Live stream starts at 3:00pm EST / 8:00pm GMT
The video will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the broadcast.

To enjoy this concert visit: www.wigmore-hall.org.uk

Related Posts