Orchestre symphonique de Montréal presents

Kent Nagano & Shostakovitch’s final symphony

Shostakovich’s final symphony and Beethoven’s last piano concerto both emerged under difficult circumstances: ill health in the case of Shostakovich the bombing of Vienna for Beethoven. Each marked the culmination of a musical language in their respective genres, and both are profoundly moving in their depth and eloquence. Two eras, two aesthetics, two masterpieces!

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal,
Kent Nagano, conductor
Rafał Blechacz, piano

S. Shepherd, Magiya (approx. 7 min.)
Shostakovich, Symphony no. 15 in A major, op. 141 (approx. 42 min.)
Beethoven, Piano Concerto no. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73, “Emperor” (approx. 38 min.)

Wednesday, May 24, 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, May 25, 7:00 p.m.

Grand Preconcert Talks:

Wednesday, May 24, 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, May 25, 6:00 p.m.

Host: Georges Nicholson
Guest: Kent Nagano, conductor and Music Director of the OSM
Modern symphony: Symphony no. 15 in A major, op. 141 by Shostakovich

For more information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com 514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112