Conservatoire de musique de Montréal presents

Schumann’s Symphony No. 3

The musicians of the Orchestre symphonique du Conservatoire de musique de Montréal return to the Maison symphonique to present Schumann’s Symphony No. 3, under the direction of conductor Jacques Lacombe.

Jacques Lacombe, conductor

Music and Artistic Director of the Orchestre symphonique de Mulhouse in France from 2017 to 2021, Jacques Lacombe has previously been Principal Conductor of the Bonn Opera in Germany from 2016 to 2018 and Music Director of the Orchestre symphonique de Trois-Rivières from 2006 till 2018. From 2010 to 2016 he was Music Director of the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra and from 2002 to 2006, principal guest conductor of the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal after being music director of the Philharmonie de Lorraine in Metz, France. Jacques Lacombe is renowned as a “gifted and ambitious” conductor (The New York Times) whose artistic integrity and rapport with musicians and orchestras have propelled him to international stature.

In July 2016, Jacques Lacombe was honored to be re-invited to conduct the opening weekend concerts of the prestigious Tanglewood Music Festival with the Boston Symphony Orchestra where he was a guest for a third consecutive year. In addition, one of the highlights of his past seasons includes his debut with the Orchestre National de France at the Theatre des Champs Élysées in Paris for a concert version of Massenet’s Werther with Joyce Di Donato and Juan Diego Flórez. He also made his debut at the Festival Internacional de Opera Alejandro Granda in Lima, Peru. Symphonic debuts include the Taiwan Philharmonic National Symphony Orchestra as well as orchestras in Dallas, Nancy, Omaha and San Antonio. More recently, he conducted at the Bonn Opera new productions of Holofernes by Reznicek, La Bohème, Lucia di Lammermoor and Peter Grimes with, in the title role José Cura who also staged this new production.

In recent seasons, he has collaborated with renowned soloists such as Emanuel Ax, Joshua Bell, Yefim Bronfman, Sarah Chang, Yo-Yo Ma, Branford Marsalis, Gil Shaham, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, André Watts, Diana Damrau, Joyce DiDonato, Renee Fleming, Angela Gheorghiu, Frederica von Stade, Roberto Alagna, José Cura, Dimitri Hovrostovsky and Bryn Terfel.

Born in Cap-de-la-Madeleine, Québec, Jacques Lacombe received his musical training at the Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal and at the Hochschule für Musik in Vienna. Orchestral conducting teacher at the Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal where he’s also music director of the orchestra, he received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012. He is also a Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Québec and a Member of the Order of Canada, one of the highest civilian honors in the country.

Léa Moisan-Perrier and Renaud Madore, étudiante en direction
Elsa Barozzi, violin
Marion Portelance, violoncelle

Marion discovered her passion for the cello at the age of 4. She completed her baccalaureate at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal in the class of Carole Sirois and won the Concours de concerto of the institution for the 2021-2022 season. She had the honor of playing in master classes for great cellists such as Gary Hoffman, Johannes Moser, Natasha Brofsky, Michel Strauss, Lluis Claret, Philippe Muller, Yegor Dyachkov, Stéphane Tétreault, Rachel Mercer and Julian Steckel.

Marion has had the privilege of touring several times with different orchestras across Europe and North America, notably playing at the Konzerthaus in Berlin and Carnegie Hall in New York as solo cello. She is the selected cellist for the 2021 NAC Orchestral Training Program. Among the many other ensembles she has joined are NYO Canada, the National Youth Orchestra of Germany – Bundesjugendorchester, The Classical Orchestra of Montreal and the Volte set. In November 2019, she was part of the Canadian tour Frenergy, under the baton of Maestro Sascha Goetzel, with the European Union Youth Orchestra. She is principal cello of the Orchestre Symphonique du Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal.

Berlioz, Le Corsaire: ouverture op. 21
Saint-Saëns, Concerto pour violon no 3 en si mineur, op. 61
Schumann, Concerto pour violoncelle en la mineur, op.129
Schumann, Symphonie no 3 « Rhénane », op. 97

Maison Symphonique
Sunday, November 14, 2021 at 2:30pm
To purchase your tickets visit:

Related Posts