Les Grands Ballets presents

Sleeping Beauty

The story of the slumbering princess goes back several centuries and went through numerous versions before Perrault was inspired by an Italian tale to write what would become the Sleeping Beauty that we know today. The day of her christening, an infant princess receives a curse from the fairy Carabosse, whom no one invited to the fete; the fairy wishes for Aurora to prick her finger and die on the day of her 16th birthday. Fortunately, another fairy succeeds in easing the princess’ plight by having her fall instead into a deep sleep of 100 years. Only true love’s kiss will awaken her.

On Tchaikovsky’s magnificent music, Les Grands Ballets visit Marius Petipa’s classical ballet. While a rotating cast of characters unfold the story we all know, the Manichaean conflict between Good, the Lilac Fairy, and Evil, Carabosse, persists until the very end.

The long-awaited day is finally here. The palace halls ring with a flurry of excitement as King Florestan and the Queen beam with pride over their daughter, Princess Aurora. Today is her Christening, and the six Good Fairies have arrived to bestow their gifts upon the young girl, their Goddaughter.
With a jolt, a crack of thunder and lightning announce the arrival of the evil fairy Carabosse and end the festive mood. She is livid at not having been invited to partake in the important day. The Good Fairies try to calm her but are unable to prevent her from casting a horrible spell on the Princess. On her 16th birthday, it is declared, Princess Aurora will prick her finger on a spindle and die. The King and Queen fall into despair. The Lilac Fairy, who had not yet presented her gift to the Princess, succeeds in softening Carabosse’s curse with a spell of her own. Princess Aurora is protected from death, but will fall into a 100-year slumber that can only be broken by true love’s kiss.

Time passes, and Princess Aurora blossoms into a young woman under the watchful protection of the Lilac Fairy. Yet, Carabosse always lingers near, anticipating the fateful day when her curse will unfold.

In the palace garden, King Florestan and the Queen are hosting a lavish party for Princess Aurora’s 16th birthday. Among the guests are four princes who have come to vie for the Princess’ affection. An elderly woman, hiding in plain sight, makes her way to the Princess’ side and gifts her a bouquet of roses. Little does Princess Aurora know, the elderly woman is actually Carabosse, and a spindle is hidden in the bouquet. While admiring the flowers, Aurora pricks her finger and falls under spell. She is laid in her bed, destined to sleep for 100 cursed years. When the whole court falls victim to the enchanted sleep, the Lilac Fairy creates a thick forest to conceal and protect the kingdom until the curse can be broken. Enraged at having been thwarted, Carabosse slips away to plot her revenge.

A century later, there is another royal party where a young prince is being courted. Prince Désiré longs for solitude and escapes the party, and the many women there trying to charm him, by going for a walk in the forest. Carabosse has spotted him, but so have the Lilac Fairy and the forest nymphs. The Lilac Fairy acts first, conjuring a vision of sleeping Princess Aurora. As if in a dream, Prince Désiré begins to dance with Aurora and falls completely in love. Hopeful, the Lilac Fairy leads him to the sleeping kingdom to find and awaken her. Carabosse stakes out the Prince from the thorny rose thicket and pounces on him with a spell. The Lilac Fairy comes to his rescue, returning the spell against Carabosse. When Prince Désiré finally makes it to Aurora’s bedside, he falls to his knees and kisses her, breaking her curse.

The whole kingdom has awoken from their cursed sleep and rejoices in preparing the wedding between Princess Aurora and Prince Désiré. The guestlist includes beloved fairytale characters who make special appearances for this joyous event. The Lilac Fairy blesses the couple’s union and continues to watch over them, but Carabosse never remains far, awaiting her moment of reprisal.

Wednesday, June 1, 2022 at 8:00pm
Thursday, June 2, 2022 at 8:00pm
Friday, June 3, 2022 at 8:00pm
Saturday, June 4, 2022 at 2:00pm
Saturday, June 4, 2022 at 8:00pm
Sunday, June 5, 2022 at 2:00pm

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com