Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 Special Broadcast series presents

Angela Hewitt

In the month when Angela Hewitt would have performed the final concert of the multi-season Bach Odyssey, she presents a special live broadcast program including her own arrangement of a 1714 chorale.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Toccata in C minor, BWV 911
Sinfonia in E-flat major, BWV 791
English Suite No. 6 in D minor, BWV 811 (Prélude)
Capriccio on the Departure of his Beloved Brother, BWV 992 (Adagissimo)
Sheep May Safely Graze (arr. by Mary Howe); from Cantata BWV 208
Fantasia in C minor, BWV 906
French Suite No. 5 in G major, BWV 816 (Sarabande)
Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue in D minor, BWV 903
Alle Menschen Müssen Sterben, BWV 643 (arr. by Angela Hewitt)

One of the world’s leading pianists, Angela Hewitt appears in recital and as soloist with major orchestras throughout Europe, the Americas, Australia, and Asia. Her interpretations of the music of J.S. Bach have established her as one of the composer’s foremost interpreters of our time.

Born in 1958 into a musical family (the daughter of the Cathedral organist and choirmaster in Ottawa, Canada), Angela began her piano studies age three, performed in public at four and a year later won her first scholarship. In her formative years, she also studied classical ballet, violin, and recorder. From 1963-73 she studied at Toronto’s Royal Conservatory of Music with Earle Moss and Myrtle Guerrero, after which she completed her Bachelor of Music in Performance at the University of Ottawa in the class of French pianist Jean-Paul Sévilla, graduating at the age of 18. She was a prizewinner in numerous piano competitions in Europe, Canada, and the USA, but it was her triumph in the 1985 Toronto International Bach Piano Competition, held in memory of Glenn Gould, that truly launched her international career.

Angela’s award-winning cycle for Hyperion Records of all the major keyboard works of Bach has been described as “one of the record glories of our age” (The Sunday Times).

One of her current projects, The Bach Odyssey, sees her performing all the keyboard works of J.S. Bach in a series of twelve recitals between 2016 and 2020, presenting the complete cycle in London, New York, Ottawa, Tokyo, and Florence.

This concert forms part of the Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 Special Broadcast series. It will be available to listen to live on BBC Radio 3 and also to watch live on Wigmore Hall’s website.
The concert will be approximately one hour in duration.


Related Posts