Orchestre Métropolitain presents

Molinari & Pictures at an Exhibition

Britten’s four interludes, with titles evoking the dawn, morning, moonlight and a storm, are taken from his opera Peter Grimes, a tragic tale of disappearances at sea and broken lives. At the intersection of visual art and music, the Quatuor Molinari is centre stage in the premiere of a work by Montreal composer Samy Moussa. Like the Borduas painting that inspired it, François Morel’s L’Étoile noire moves the listener through its simple beauty comprised of abrupt contrasts and delicate, fluid textures. With his orchestral version of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, Ravel reveals all the nuances and brilliant colours of the celebrated piano piece.

Nicholas Carter, conductor

BRITTEN – Four Sea Interludes
SAMY MOUSSA – Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra (premiere)
F. MOREL – L’Étoile noire (Tombeau de Borduas)
MUSSORGSKY-RAVEL – Pictures at an Exhibition

For information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com 514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts