Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Brahms and Nielsen: Vigour, Virtuosity, Vitality

Juraj Valčuha’s previous performances with the OSM turned into momentous concerts. This Slovenian conductor returns to direct a work in the spirit of our age: Danish composer Carl Nielsen’s Symphony no. 4, whose four impromptu movements celebrate the regenerative forces of life and of nature. Brahms, another composer of Hanseatic origin, conjures equal vigour and vitality in his Double Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra, a virtuosic and energetic work that perfectly completes this vitally energetic concert.

Juraj Valčuha, conductor
Liza Ferschtman, violin

Renowned for her strong musical personality and the versatility of her musicianship, which combines powerful dynamism and intense lyricism, Liza Ferschtman has been praised in the international musical press, with The New York Times describing her as ‘nothing short of revelatory’, and referring to the ‘laserlike intensity, purity and refined beauty of her playing’, while The Guardian commended her ‘vivacious musical personality’ and ‘lovely lyrical quality’.

Ivan Karizna, cello

French cellist Ivan Karizna was born in Minsk in 1992 into a musical family. At 17 he went to study with Jerôme Pernoo at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse in Paris. Later he studied with Frans Helmerson in Kronberg Academy. At 19 years old Ivan won the 3rd Prize of the 14th International Tchaikovsky Competition (2011), two years later the Suggia Prize in Porto, the 1st Prize of the International Società Umanitaria Competition in Milan in 2015, the 1st Prize of the Luis Sigall Competition in Chile in 2016.

Sibelius, The Oceanides, op. 73 (11 min)
Nielsen, Symphony no. 4, op. 29, “The Inextinguishable” (36 min.)

Maison symphonique
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 at 7:30pm
Thursday, May 26, 2022 at 7:30pm

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com