Wigmore Hall Presents

Wigmore Soloists

In January the ensemble made its Wigmore Hall debut to an audience at home with the popular Schubert Octet, subsequently returning to play music by Bartók, Dohnányi and Reinecke before a live audience. Tonight’s program from a group consisting of leading soloists sees them take on two works by British composers, Arthur Bliss’s quintet of 1932 and Howard Ferguson’s 1933 octet, which paradoxically began life as a clarinet quintet: its first performance was arranged by Ferguson’s colleague Bliss.

Wigmore Soloists
Isabelle van Keulen, viola, violin
Benjamin Marquise Gilmore, violin
Scott Dickinson, viola
Kristina Blaumane, cello
Tim Gibbs, double bass
Michael Collins, clarinet
Peter Sparks, clarinet
Robin O’Neill, bassoon
Alberto Menéndez Escribano, horn
Emily Beynon, flute

Howard Ferguson (1908-1999) Octet Op. 4
Arthur Bliss (1891-1975) Clarinet Quintet F20
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Serenade in D Op. 11 for nonet

Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Live stream starts at 3:00pm EST
The video will be available on demand for 90 days after the date of the broadcast.

To enjoy this concert visit: www.wigmore-hall.org.uk