Live streamed from Wigmore Hall, London

Jonathan Plowright, piano

Jonathan Plowright opens this concert with Busoni’s arrangement of Bach’s D minor Chaconne, nearly 120 years after Busoni’s own gala performance at the opening of the Hall. This is followed by the six pieces that make up Liszt’s Consolations S172. The concert closes with Grieg’s Holberg Suite Op. 40, originally written for piano before Grieg adapted it for string orchestra. The suite consists of an introduction and a set of dances.

Hailed by reviewers as “a colossal musical mind”  with a “transcendent technique”, Jonathan Plowright is “one of the finest living pianists” according to Gramophone Magazine.

Gold Medallist at the Royal Academy of Music and a Fulbright Scholar, prizewinner in many competitions, Jonathan also won the Gold Medal at the Royal Overseas League Competition as well as first prize at the European Piano Competition. Critics, colleagues and audiences alike have since had unanimous praise for his many national and international performances and he has been in demand all over the world as recitalist, appeared with leading orchestras and ensembles and given numerous radio broadcasts. He has a hugely successful string of recordings on the Hyperion, BIS and Warner labels all of which have been enthusiastically received with outstanding reviews in the worldwide media.

“Plowright shows his real qualities as a virtuoso, especially his clarity of texture and instinct for phrasing.”  – BBC MUSIC MAGAZINE 

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Partita No. 2 in D minor for solo violin BWV1004V.
Chaconne (arranged by Ferruccio Busoni)
Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Consolations S172
Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Holberg Suite Op. 40

Monday, May 3, 2021 8:00am ET / 1:00pm GMT
This concert will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the concert.

To enjoy this concert visit:

Related Posts