The musicians of the OSM present a selection of works from the Baroque period, requiring no small measure of technical skill to perform. Bach’s creative genius shines through his transcription of a concerto by Alessandro Marcello, a composer well-worth discovering; sacred music composer Jan Dismas Zelenka gives free rein to his imagination in one of his rare instrumental works; and finally, Christoph Graupner, a close contemporary of Bach’s, celebrates the canon form in a major work in six movements.

Musicians of the OSM

Theodore Baskin, oboe
Alexa Zirbel, oboe
Martin Mangrum, bassoon
Karen Baskin, cello
Scott Feltham, double bass
Geneviève Soly, organ

J.S. Bach / A. Marcello, Concerto pour hautbois en ré mineur (12 min)
Jan Dismas Zelenka, Sonate en trio no 6 en do mineur, pour deux hautbois, basson et basse continue (20 min)
Christoph Graupner, Canon en si bémol majeur, pour deux hautbois, violoncelle et basse continue (15 min)
Jan Dismas Zelenka, Sonate en trio no 5 en en fa majeur, pour deux hautbois, basson et basse continue (17 min)

Friday, January 24th 2020 at 6:30pm
Duration: 1 Hrs Without intermission

For tickets and information: 514-285-2000

Bourgie Concert Hall, at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA) complex, is a 444-seat venue located in the restored Erskine and American Church (designed in 1894 in Neo-Romanesque style by architect Alexander Cowper Hutchison). Designated a national historic site in 1998, the transformed setting is now graced with high-quality acoustics and an exceptional décor incorporating 20 historic Tiffany stained glass windows. Ideal for performances by chamber-music ensembles, string orchestras, and other groups, Bourgie Concert Hall offer music lovers an auditory repertoire as diverse as the MMFA collections

Bourgie Concert Hall
1339 Sherbrooke Street West,
Montreal, Quebec
H3G 2E8