The repertoire for solo cello is relatively limited, and at its apex certainly lies Bach’s six Suites. Their sequence of movements follows period dance conventions, and Bach exploits all the instrument’s expressive possibilities within that framework. Kodály and Dutilleux also produced works of outstanding virtuosity for solo cello in the 20th century.

Jean-Guihen Queyras is one of the most celebrated cellists of the present day. These intimate concerts showcase his mastery and sensitivity as a performer.

Concert I

Tuesday, November 6th 2018 at 7:30pm
Duration: 1 Hrs

J.S. Bach
Cello Suite No.1 in G major, BWV 1007
Cello Suite No.2 in D minor, BWV 1008
Cello Suite No.3 in C major, BWV 1009
Kodály Sonata for Solo Cello, Op.8

Concert II

Wednesday, November 7th 2018 at 7:30pm
Duration: 1 Hrs 30 Min

J.S. Bach
Cello Suite No.4 in E-flat major, BWV 1010
Cello Suite No.5 in C minor, BWV 1011
Cello Suite No.6 in D major, BWV 1012
Dutilleux Trois Strophes sur le nom de Sacher

For tickets and information: 514-285-2000
Subscribe to the series – Subscription by phone: 514-285-2000, option 4, or 1-800-899-6873
Every day from 9 am to 5pm or in person at the ticket booth of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

Bourgie Concert Hall
1339 Sherbrooke Street West,
Montreal, Quebec
H3G 2E8