Orchestre symphonique de Montréal presents

Brahms according to Vasily Petrenko

How many great works were born of a love story or a deep friendship? Completed 20 years after the composer met Schumann, Brahms’ First Symphony was written with much encouragement from his friend. Schumann’s Piano Concerto, for its part, was penned for the composer’s wife, Clara. With his interpretive refinement, the young pianist Javier Perianes is sure to move you in the performance of this masterpiece!

Serge Garant’s piece is presented as part of the 50th anniversary of the SMCQ and the 2017 MNM Festival.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Vasily Petrenko, conductor
Javier Perianes, piano (Concerts on February 23 and 25 only)
Grand prize winner of the 2016 OSM Manulife Competition (strings and organ edition) (February 22 concert only)

Serge Garant, Plages (approx. 12 min.)
Schumann, Piano Concerto in A minor, op. 54 (approx. 31 min.)
Brahms, Symphony no 1 in C minor, op. 68 (approx. 45 min.)
Concerto to be confirmed (Concert on February 22 only)

For more information and tickets: www.laplacedesarts.com   514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts