Sofya Gulyak

Born in Tatarstan, this daring pianist and first woman to win the Leeds International Piano Competition, Sofya Gulyak brilliantly embraces the technical challenges of Russian piano repertoire. From the famous Nutcracker Suite to Medtner’s Four Fairy Tales, Gulyak conveys delicate sensitivity born of her cultural heritage. With characteristic intensity, she then attacks Prokofiev’s Sixth Piano Sonata, the first of the composer’s three great “War Sonatas”.

LYADOV Three Pieces, Op. 11
TCHAIKOVSKY-PLETNEV Nutcracker Suite, Op. 71a
SHOSTAKOVICH Prelude and Fugue in D-flat Major, Op. 87 No. 15
MEDTNER Four Fairy Tales, Op. 26
PROKOFIEV Sonata No. 6 in A Major, Op. 82

For tickets and information:   514-285-2000

Bourgie Concert Hall
1339 Sherbrooke Street West,
Montreal, Quebec
H3G 2E8

Related Posts