Montreal Chamber Music Festival celebrates its 20th Anniversary on June 10 with The Dover Quartet and Marc-André Hamelin

Montreal Chamber Music Festival Marc-Andre Hamelin

World renowned pianist Marc-Andre Hamelin

Virtuosi pianist Marc-André Hamelin to
perform a solo recital on June 11

World renowned master pianist Marc-Andre Hamelin will perform at the Montreal Chamber Music Festival On June 10 with the Dover Quartet on June 10 and then again on June 11 in a solo recital. Both concerts will take place at McGill University’s Pollack Hall.

Sponsored by The Azrieli Foundation, The Sir Jack Lyons Charitable Trust and The Consulate General of Israel in Montreal, the June 10th concert will celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the Montreal Chamber Music Festival. Montreal-born virtuoso – Marc-André Hamelin will perform with the extraordinary Dover Quartet, winner of the Banff International String Quartet Competition in 2013. The program includes Victor Ullmann’s rarely heard Quartet No. 3, composed at Theresienstadt in 1943; and the Piano Quintet in F minor by César Franck.

Internationally renowned for his originality and
prodigious mastery of the piano, Marc-André Hamelin’s complete artistry will be on full display in a solo recital featuring works by Haydn, Debussy, Liszt and John Field. “Hamelin has established himself as the thinking man’s virtuoso,” says The Washington Post, “the exuberance with which he plunged into the classical repertory evoked something ebullient,
delighted and filled with breathtaking energy, like a child plummeting into a swimming pool.”

Tickets for these two musical events are available at or

20th Anniversary Celebration

Dover Quartet and Marc-Andre Hamelin
Viktor Ullmann (1898-1944)
Quartet No. 3, Opus 46 (1943)
Allegro moderato
Presto, Scherzo & Trio
[Recapitulation of Allegro moderato]
Rondo – Finale. Allegro vivace e ritmico
Dover String Quartet

Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
Impromptus D. 935, nos. 3 & 4 (1827)
Marc-André Hamelin, piano


César Franck (1822 – 1890)
Quintet in F minor (1879)
Molto moderato quasi lento – Allegro
Lento con molto sentiment
Allegro non troppo ma con fuoco

Marc-André Hamelin, piano
Dover String Quartet
Joel Link and Bryan Lee, violins
Milena Pajaro-van de Stadt, viola
Camden Shaw, cello

Hamelin Recital Program, June 11

Sponsored by Davis Joachim
John Field (1782 – 1837)
Andante inédit in E-flat major, H. 64
Marc-André Hamelin (1961 –)
Chaconne (2013)
Achille-Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Images, 2e série, Livre II
Cloches à travers les feuilles
Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut
Poissons d’or

Marc-André Hamelin (1961 –)
Variations sur un thème de Paganini


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Sonata en B-flat major, D.960
Molto moderato
Andante sostenuto
Scherzo: Allegro vivace con delicatezza – Trio
Allegro ma non troppo – Presto

Marc-André Hamelin, piano