Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Christoph Eschenbach and Beethoven’s Striking Symphony No. 7

Christoph Eschenbach returns to the OSM, joined by the astonishing violinist Augustin Hadelich in Alban Berg’s Concerto “To the Memory of an Angel,” a contemplative work dedicated to the daughter of Alma Mahler, who tragically died at a young age. Beethoven’s Symphony no. 7 brings a complete change of atmosphere, with its powerful rhythmic impetus and its surges of infectious joy.


Christoph Eschenbach, conductor

Christoph Eschenbach is a phenomenon amongst the top league of international conductors. Universally acclaimed as both a conductor and pianist, he belongs firmly to the German intellectual line of tradition, yet he combines this with a rare emotional intensity, producing performances revered by concert-goers worldwide. Renowned for the breadth of his repertoire and the depth of his interpretations, he has held directorships with many leading orchestras and gained the highest musical honours.

Eschenbach has been awarded the Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, and is a Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres; he is a holder of the German Federal Cross of Merit and a winner of the Leonard Bernstein Award.

Augustin Hadelich, violin

Augustin Hadelich is one of the great violinists of our time. Known for his phenomenal technique, insightful and persuasive interpretations and ravishing tone, he tours extensively around the world. He has performed with all the major American orchestras as well as the Berliner Philharmoniker, Concertgebouworkest, Orchestre National de France, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, and many others.

BERG, Three Pieces for Orchestra, op. 6 (19 min.)
BERG, Violin Concerto, “To the Memory of an Angel” (22 min.)
BEETHOVEN, Symphony no. 7 in A major, op. 92 (36 min.)

Maison symphonique
Wednesday, November 8, 2023 at 7:30pm
Thursday, November 9, 2023 at 7:30pm
Pre-concert recital on Wednesday, November 8 and Thursday, November 9 at 6:30pm for all ticket holders.

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com