Orchestre Métropolitain presents

From Soloist to Maestro

OM’s artist-in-residence for the 23-24 season, Austrian virtuoso Andreas Ottensamer will conduct a spellbinding Romantic repertoire, accompanied by French clarinetist Pierre Génisson.

Following Brahms’s melancholic Tragic Overture and lyrical Concerto No. 1, the stage is set for hope and sensuality. Augusta Holmès’s symphonic poem La Nuit et l’amour, recalling Wagner, was written in the Romantic style with an emphasis on melody. Finally, Schumann’s first symphony, also known as the Spring Symphony, evokes flowers and colours in bloom.

Andreas Ottensamer, conductor (artist in residence)

Ottensamer has captured audiences and critics alike with his distinct musicianship and versatility as clarinetist, artistic director and conductor.

Ottensamer is considered one of the leading instrumentalists of our time and performs as a clarinet soloist in the major concert halls around the world with orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the London Philharmonic, the Seoul Philharmonic and the Netherlands Philharmonic under Mariss Jansons, Sir Simon Rattle, Andris Nelsons, Yannick Nezet-Seguin, Daniel Harding and Lorenzo Viotti.

In 2021 Ottensamer gave his debut as a conductor and has been awarded the Neeme Järvi Prize of the Gstaad Festival Conducting Academy.

In the season 2023/24 Andreas Ottensamer will return to conduct the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra as well as the Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra and give his debuts with the NHK Symphony Orchestra, the Seoul Philharmonic, the Orchestre Metropolitain Montreal, the Theater Erfurt, the Kammerorchester Zurich, the Münchner Kammerorchester and the Kammerorchester Basel.

Andreas Ottensamer was born in 1989 in Vienna. He comes from an Austro-Hungarian family of musicians and was drawn to music early, receiving his first piano lessons when he was four. At the age of ten he began studying cello at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna, then changed to the clarinet in 2003.

In 2009 he interrupted his Harvard undergraduate studies to become a scholar of the Orchestra Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Ottensamer studied conducting with Professor Nicolas Pasquet (Weimar) and has taken masterclasses with Maestri Riccardo Muti and Jaap van Zweden and Professor Johannes Schlaefli (Zürich). He has assisted Maestro Francois-Xavier Roth with the London Symphony Orchestra.

Pierre Génisson, clarinet

Born in 1986 in Marseille, Pierre GENISSON is one of the best representatives of the French wind school. Winner of the prestigious Carl Nielsen International Competition, he won the 1st Prize and the Audience Prize at the Jacques Lancelot International Competition in Tokyo.

Pierre Genisson trained at the CNSM in Paris with Michel Arrignon for clarinet, Claire Désert, Amy Flammer and Jean Sulem for chamber music. After having obtained the first prizes unanimously in these two disciplines, he went to perfect his skills at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles with Yehuda Gilad where he obtained an Artist Diploma.

Pierre Genisson is regularly invited to perform as a soloist with many orchestras such as the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester- Berlin, the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, BBC orchestras, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Sichuan Symphony, Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, Jyvaskyla Symphony orchestra, Orchester Philharmonique Royal de Liège, the Düsseldorf Symphony Orchestra… and collaborates in particular with conductors such as Krystof Urbansky, Olari Elts, Darell Ang, Sacha Goetzel, Krysztof Penderecki, Alexandre Bloch, Lionel Bringuier…

Genisson has a keen interest in musical creation and regularly collaborates with many composers such as Thierry Escaich, Karol Beffa, Philippe Hersant, Tristan Murail or Eric Montalbetti…. He is the dedicatee of the Concerto for clarinet by Eric Tanguy. Active ambassador of the Buffet Crampon brand, he is invited to give numerous masterclasses in Europe, Asia, USA, Canada, Mexico and he teaches at the Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris. The Academy of Fine Arts of the Institut de France awarded him the “Cino del Duca” interpretation prize in 2018 and he is also a laureate of the Banque Populaire, Safran, and “Music and Wine at Clos Vougeot” Foundations.

BRAHMS, Tragic Overture
BRAHMS, Clarinet Concerto No. 1 (arr. for orchestra by Butorac)
Augusta HOLMÈS, La nuit et l’amour
SCHUMANN, Symphony No. 1, “The Spring Symphony”

Maison symphonique
Friday, October 13, 2023 at 7:30pm

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com

Related Posts