Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Charles Richard-Hamelin Performs Prokofiev’s Concerto no. 2

Pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin returns to the OSM to perform Prokofiev’s Concerto no. 2, a work of spectacular bravura that caused a scandal when it was premiered in 1913. Under the baton of Finnish conductor John Storgårds, the Orchestra sets off on epic adventures, from the depiction of Charon’s rowboat in Rachmaninoff’s Isle of the Dead, to Sibelius’ tone poem En saga, the inspiration for the Finnish composer Lotta Wennäkoski’s Verdigris.

John Storgårds, conductor

Chief Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra and Principal Guest Conductor of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra Ottawa, John Storgårds has a dual career as a conductor and violin virtuoso and is widely recognised for his creative flair for programming as well as his rousing yet refined performances. As Artistic Director of the Lapland Chamber Orchestra, a title he has been holding for over 25 years, Storgårds earned global critical acclaim for the ensemble’s adventurous performances and award-winning recordings.

“Indeed, the impressive musical results supported the acclaim that has greeted the (…) Finnish conductor at every step of his rapid podium ascent worldwide.” Chicago Tribune

Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano

Silver medalist and laureate of the Krystian Zimerman Prize at the 2015 International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw, Canadian pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin is standing out today as one of the most important musicians of his generation. In 2014, he also won the second prize at the Montreal International Musical Competition and the third prize at the Seoul International Music Competition in South Korea. Charles is the recipient of the Order of Arts and Letters of Quebec and the prestigious Career Development Award offered by the Women’s Musical Club of Toronto.

“Richard-Hamelin has bold, original ideas about the music he plays, the emotional resevoirs to back them up and the technical equipment to convey them without distraction”. – Gramophone

Lotta Wennäkoski, Verdigris (12 min.)
Rachmaninoff, Isle of the Dead, Tone poem, op. 29 (21 min.) *Concerts on May 10 and 13 only
Prokofiev, Piano Concerto no. 2 in G minor, op. 16 (31 min.)
Sibelius, En saga, op. 9, Tone poem (20 min.)

Maison symphonique
Wednesday, May 10, 2023 at 7:30pm
Thursday, May 11, 2023 at 10:30am
Saturday, May 13, 2023 at 2:30pm

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com