Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Gershwin’s Piano Concerto

A whole play of musical influences and legacies links the works on this program of music from both sides of the Atlantic. While Petrushka and Daphnis et Chloé were composed for Sergei Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes, Gershwin’s Concerto in F, which premiered in 1925, resonates with Slavic flair, immersing us in the ambiance of 1920s America, with accents of blues and Charleston. Music students from higher learning institutions will join the Orchestra’s musicians in Stravinsky’s Petrushka..

Jérémie Rhorer, conductor

Jérémie Rhorer is one of the most exciting and versatile conductors of his generation. He continues in the tradition of artist-innovator as the founder and Music Director of Le Cercle de l’Harmonie, leading the exploration of the repertoire of the 18th and 19th centuries using period instruments and original tuning. As a conductor, Rhorer is an equally acclaimed interpreter of the works of Mozart as well as modern works. A winner of the Prix Pierre Cardin, Jérémie Rhorer is also a well-respected composer.

Jérémie Rhorer has conducted some of the most distinguished international orchestras, including the Montréal Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra, the Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Rotterdam Philharmonic, the Orchestre de Paris and the Czech Philharmonic.

Stewart Goodyear, piano

Proclaimed “a phenomenon” by the Los Angeles Times and “one of the best pianists of his generation” by the Philadelphia Inquirer, Stewart Goodyear is an accomplished concert pianist, improviser and composer. Mr. Goodyear has performed with, and has been commissioned by, many of the major orchestras and chamber music organizations around the world.

Highlights for the 2022-23 season are his return to the Nashville Symphony Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Southbank Centre (UK), and a North American tour with the Chineke! Orchestra.

Éric Champagne, Vers les astres (10 min.)
Stravinsky, Petrushka (35 min., version to be confirmed)
Gershwin, Piano Concerto in F major (31 min.)
Ravel, Daphnis et Chloé, Suite no. 2 (18 min.)

Maison symphonique
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 at 7:30pm
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 at 7:30pm

To purchase your tickets visit: www.placedesarts.com