Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

Maxim Vengerov plays Bruch’s famous First Concerto

Renowned violinist Maxim Vengerov performs Max Bruch’s Concerto no. 1 under the baton of Danish-Israeli conductor Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider. Considered a gem of the violin repertoire, Bruch’s concerto combines fantasy, passion, lyricism and the influence of Roma (Gypsy) music. As for the Austrian composer Zemlinsky, he was inspired by Andersen’s famous fairy tale for the orchestral fantasy The Little Mermaid, where the heroine’s vain quest for love is described in colourful musical tableaux. Wagner’s imposing Overture to Tannhäuser opens the program.

Maxim Vengerov, violin

Universally hailed as one of the world’s finest musicians, and often referred to as the greatest living string player in the world today, Grammy award winner Maxim Vengerov also enjoys international acclaim as a conductor and is one of the most in-demand soloists.

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaide, conductor

After an acclaimed first year at the helm, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaiders continues his Music Directorship of the Orchestre National de Lyon. Szeps-Znaider is a regular guest conductor of the world’s leading orchestras, with upcoming returns to the podiums of the Chicago Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal.

Wagner, Tannhäuser, WWV 70: Overture (14 min.)
Bruch, Violin Concerto no. 1 in G minor, op. 26 (24 min.)
Zemlinsky, Die Seejungfrau [The Mermaid] (40 min.)

Maison symphonique
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 at 7:30pm
Thursday, January 19, 2023 at 7:30pm

To purchase your tickets visit: www.osm.ca