Brahms and Chamber Music

Violist Miguel da Silva and pianist Kojiro Okada, accompanied by the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel (Belgium) Quartet, invite the listener to explore Brahms’s chamber music repertoire.

Miguel da Silva, viola

Franco-Swiss musician, Miguel da Silva was born in Reims. He started studying at the Conservatoire of his native city before moving to Paris where he was a student at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique, with Serge Collot. In Paris, he was awarded First Prize in chamber music and also for viola, unanimously with special vote by the jury). In 1985 he won the First Prize of the International Chamber Music Competition in Paris.

In the past few years, engagements either as a solo player or with his quartet have led him to the Wigmore Hall in London and most of the greatest concert halls in Europe (Munich/Herkulesaal, Venice/Teatro della Fenice, Copenhague, Helsinki, Amsterdam/Concertgebouw, Hannover, Basel, Baden-Baden, Salzburg/Festspielhaus, Leipzig) and he has toured in Belgium, USA, Japan and Italy.

Miguel da Silva has appeared as a soloist with the Paris Chamber Orchestra, the Polish Chamber Orchestra, the Orchestre d’Auvergne, the Franz-Liszt Orchestra of Budapest, the Orchestra de Bretagne, and the Orchestre “Les Siècles”.

In 2009, he joined Geneva’s Haute Ecole de Musique, in Switzerland, as a Viola and Chamber Music Professor, and became the artistic director of Villecroze’s Académie Musicale, in France.

He has recently been appointed Master in Residence at the Queen Elizabeth Music Chapel, in Belgium, where he joined José Van Dam (voice), Augustin Dumay (violin), Louis Lortie (piano) and Gary Hoffman (cello).

Kojiro Okada, piano

Kojiro Okada started playing the violin with his brother but quickly turned to the piano, and entered the Bordeaux Regional Conservatory in 2006 in the class of Marie-Christine Dubernat.

In October 2018, he won the first prize in the Gabriel Fauré International Competition. He also won the first prize of the International Competition of the Società Umanitaria in Milan, Italy with the Duo Consonance formed with Jeremy Garbarg.

He recently participated in the performances of the Centre de Musique de Chambre de Paris at the Salle Cortot and he is regularly invited to the Folles Journées de Nantes and to those from Tokyo.

In September 2021 he was appointed an artist in residence in the piano section of the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Waterloo, Belgium, under the guidance of Louis Lortie and piano accompanist for the Viola section.

Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel String Quartet (Belgium)

Viola Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 120, No. 2
Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60
String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111

Thursday, November 10, 2022 at 7:30pm
To purchase your tickets visit:

Related Posts