Wigmore Hall presents

Elisabeth Brauss
Mozart, Prokofiev, Ravel and Scarlatti

Pianist Elisabeth Brauss has been praised by Gramophone Magazine for “the maturity and sophistication of her thoughtful interpretations” which “would be the pride of any pianist twice her age”. Born in Hannover in 1995, Elisabeth is quickly establishing herself as one of the most exciting and versatile musicians of her generation.

As a member of the BBC New Generation Artist Scheme, Elisabeth has many solo, chamber and concerto engagements across the UK. In 2021 she made her debut at the BBC Proms, performing Mozart with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. In a new partnership between this scheme and the Hallé Orchestra, she was recently announced as recipient of the Terence Judd-Hallé Award, given to a NGA graduate considered to be on the cusp of a major international career.

This season, Elisabeth makes her debut with Hallé Orchestra, Staatsphilharmonie Nürnberg and Göttinger Symphonie Orchester. In recent seasons she has also performed with BBC Symphony, BBC Scottish Symphony and Ulster Orchestras, in addition to dates with Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover and Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra in her native Germany.

During the 2021/22 season Elisabeth’s solo performances will include Cologne, London (Wigmore Hall) and Hamburg, where she will take part in Max Richter’s Reflektor Festival at the Elbphilharmonie. She enjoys playing chamber music and has appeared with the violinist Noa Wildschut throughout Europe, including the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and Philharmonie Halls in both Paris and Cologne. This season their engagements include the Young Artists Series promoted by San Francisco Symphony. Elisabeth also works regularly with the trumpet player Simon Höfele, with whom she will be touring to promote their recent release ‘New Standards’.

In addition to winning first prize at the International Steinway Competition in Hamburg, and the International Grotrian Steinweg Piano Competition in Braunschweig, Elisabeth was awarded the Prätorius Musikpreis Lower Saxony Prize in 2012. Further accolades include the main and audience awards at the TONALi Grand Prix in Hamburg (2013) and first prize at the Kissinger KlavierOlymp (October 2016).

Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)
Sonata in C minor Kk56
Sonata in C Kk159 ‘La caccia’
Sonata in B minor Kk27
Sonata in B minor Kk87
Sonata in G Kk427
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Piano Sonata in A minor K310
Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Piano Sonata No. 3 in A minor Op. 28

Monday, January 24, 2022
Live stream starts at 8:00am EST / 1:00pm GMT
The video will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the broadcast.

To enjoy this concert visit: www.wigmore-hall.org.uk

Related Posts