Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra presents

Postcards from a Transatlantic Cruise

A Musical Transatlantic Cruise featuring the music of Ruth Gipps, Edward Elgar, Jean Sibelius, Kenneth Peacock, and Aaron Copland.

Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra
Judith Yan, conductor

Since it will be a long time till any of us enjoy a leisure cruise on the open ocean, the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra is taking you on a musical adventure back to the most luxurious time, when a trip across the Atlantic was the place to see and be seen!

In the “Golden Age” of the RMS Queen Mary, guests enjoyed a trip across the ocean in the lap of luxury alongside the likes of Judy Garland, Noel Coward, Elizabeth Taylor, Walt Disney, Rita Hayworth, and Frank Sinatra – they lounged on the deck, enjoyed incredible dining, and dressed for dancing each night in the ship’s ballroom.

Our trip on the QM sets sail from South Hampton with Edward Elgar’s Serenade for Strings, and Ruth Gipps’ Seascape helps us cross the waters. Take your chair at the Captain’s Table for dinner is served with Jean Sibelius’ elegant Suite Mignonne, and then grab your heels and go dancing with a jazzy surprise!

Our shore excursion brings us to Newfoundland with Kenneth Peacock’s Essay on Newfoundland Themes, giving us a chance to connect with the world-renowned hospitality of The Rock.

Then the QM finishes her trip to harbour and catches a glimpse of the Statue of Liberty rising in the dim lights of New York City, scored to Aaron Copland’s Quiet City.

Let’s set sail with the SSO and internationally acclaimed conductor Judith Yan, who’s making her SSO debut for this incredible voyage!

The live stream begins Saturday, March 27, 2021 at 8:30pm ET  (7:30pm CT), and will be available for 24 hours.

To purchase your virtual ticket visit:

Related Posts