Orchestre classique de Montreal presents

Fuego Latino

It’s an evening of Latin and Spanish music! Composers Alcides Lanza (Canada-Argentina), Turina and Rodrigo (Spain) are featured in this program. Don’t miss renowned Montreal guitarist Daniel Bolshoy performing with panache Rodrigo’s famous Concierto de Aranjuez. This concert will ignite the latino fire in all of us!

Live from the Pierre-Mercure Hall in an online broadcast viewed from your home.


Boris Brott, Conductor

Daniel Bolshoy, Guitar

Daniel Bolshoy is a Senior Lecturer in the Hugh Hodgson School of Music at the University of Georgia, where he directs the guitar program. An Israeli-Canadian guitarist, he has performed as a soloist with over sixty orchestras internationally including the Mexico City Philharmonic, the Volgograd Symphony (Russia), and the symphony orchestras of New Mexico, Modesto, Fresno, Vancouver, Toronto, Edmonton, Calgary, Kingston, Victoria, Okanagan, Saskatoon, Nova Scotia, as well as the Chamber Orchestras of Israel, Pennsylvania, Manitoba, Ottawa, The Northwest Sinfonietta, and many others.

An avid chamber musician, he has performed at numerous chamber music festival and concert series throughout North America, Europe, Russia, Asia and the Middle East. Daniel Bolshoy appears on seven commercial recordings and two documentary films on the Bravo! TV network. His recordings and live performances are often broadcast on CBC Radio, NPR and various classical music stations.

He has recently completed a tour of concerts and master classes in China, including a residency at the Beijing central conservatory. Similarly, he has been invited as faculty in residence at the Federal University of Goias in Goiania, Brazil, the Rubin Academy of Music in Israel, the conservatories of Alessandria, Milan and Turin in Italy.

Dr. Bolshoy holds a D.M. Degree from the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University. He earned his Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees at the University of Denver, where he studied with GFA hall of fame artist Ricardo Iznaola.


Bourdrones – Alcides Lanza

Concierto de Aranjuez – J. Rodrigo

La Oracion del Torero – J. Turina

Solo works featuring Daniel Bolshoy:
– Un Sueño en la Floresta – A. B. Mangoré
– Andante (Sonata Romantica) – M. M. Ponce
– Valseana, Preludio e Toccatina (Suite Aquarelle) – Sergio Assad

To purchase your virtual ticket visit: www.orchestre.ca

Please note that this concert will be a maximum of 75 minutes in length and without intermission.

(On-demand from February 16 to March 2, 2021)