Molinari Quartet

Virtual concert available in live on November 18th at 7:30pm and on-demand between November 19th and December 3, 2020.

The Molinari Quartet presents a program of Polish chamber music featuring prominent Polish composers: Henryk Górecki (1933-2010), Witold Lutoslawski (1913-1994) and Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020).

Quatuor Molinari
Olga Ranzenhofer – violin, artistic director
Antoine Bareil  violin
Frédéric Lambert – viola
Pierre-Alain Bouvrette – cello

Internationally acclaimed by the public and the critics since its foundation in 1997, the Molinari Quartet has given itself the mandate to perform works from the 20th and 21st centuries repertoire for string quartet, to commission new works and to initiate discussions between musicians, artists and the public.

Recipient of nineteen Opus Prizes awarded by the Quebec Music Council to underline musical excellence on the Quebec concert stage, the Molinari Quartet as been described by the critics as an “essential” and “prodigious” ensemble, even “Canada’s answer to the Kronos or Arditti Quartet”. The Molinari Quartet has established itself as one of Canada’s leading string quartets.

In addition to many Canadian works, including the 13 quartets by R. Murray Schafer, the Molinari Quartet’s repertoire includes among others, quartets by Bartók, Berg, Britten, Corigliano, Debussy, Dutilleux, Dun, Glass, Gubaidulina, Kancheli, Kurtág, Ligeti, Lutoslawski, Martinu, Penderecki, Prokofiev, Ravel, Rihm, Schnittke, Schoenberg, Shostakovich and Webern.

The Molinari Quartet was heard twice as soloist with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra under Charles Dutoit and in April 2018 premiered the Concerto for string quartet and orchestra by Samy Moussa with the Orchestre Métropolitain of Montréal under the direction of Nicholas Carter.

Program :

Henryk Górecki (1933-2010)
String Quartet No. 1 Op.62 (1988)

Witold Lutosławski (1913-1994)
String Quartet (1964)

Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020)
String Quartet No. 3 (2008)
Blätter eines nicht geschriebenen (Leaves from an Unwritten Diary)

To purchase your digital ticket visit:

Related Posts