In the Footsteps of the Bourgeois Gentleman

Theatricality is showcased in this concert, beginning with Mozart’s famous Concerto for clarinet, undoubtedly one of the Viennese composer’s most expressive instruments. With his Bourgeois Gentleman, Richard Strauss beckons us several centuries back with an immersion in the French style of Molière and Lully and depicting, through playful and often surprising music, the attempts of a middle-class man to gain the acceptance of the aristocracy.

A conductor of intelligence and vision, Susanna Mälkki is sought-after at the highest level with symphony orchestras, in opera houses and with contemporary music ensembles. As she enters her fifth season as Chief Conductor of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and fourth season as the Principal Guest Conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, she continues to challenge audiences with a fresh and impressively broad approach to programming.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Susanna Mälkki, conductor
Todd Cope, clarinet

Mozart, Concerto pour clarinette en la majeur, K. 622 (25 min.)
Strauss, Der Bürger als Edelmann [The Bourgeois Gentleman], Suite, TrV 228c (41 min.)

Available online
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 from 7 pm
(Available for 7 days)
For a donation to the OSM (from $ 10 per concert)

For more information visit: