London Philharmonic Orchestra – Summer Sessions

Streamed performances from Henry Wood Hall

As part of LPOnline, members of the Orchestra will perform together in the same room for the first time since mid-March.

Presenting four hour-long recitals filmed at the London Philharmonic Orchestra rehearsal home, Henry Wood Hall. In turn, the sessions will celebrate each section of the Orchestra, and the final concert in the series is an all-Beethoven program to celebrate the composer’s 250th anniversary. This final concert features LPO players alongside four musicians from the Orchestra’s Foyle Future Firsts development program.

Session 1: Strings
premiered Wednesday, July 15th

Elgar Serenade for Strings
Corelli Concerto Grosso in D, Op. 6 No. 1
Grieg Holberg Suite

Session 2: Winds
premiered Wednesday, July 29th

Rossini Sonata for Wind Quartet No. 1 in F major
Mozart Serenade in E flat K375
Janáček Mládí

Session 3: Brass and Percussion
Wednesday, August 12th at 2:30pm (EST)

Arnold A Richmond Fanfare
Richard Bissill 
Three Piece Suite for Four Horns (excerpts)
Divertimento for Three Trumpets and Three Trombones, Op. 49
Railway Fanfare
Concerto for Percussion, Op. 74 (excerpts)
Stanley Woods 
John Peel
Stanley Woods 
Alexander Takes a Swing
Fanfare for a Royal Occasion
Simon Carrington 
Hampden Celebration

London Philharmonic Orchestra YouTube Channel

Session 4: Beethoven 250
Wednesday, August 26th at  2:30pm (EST)

Beethoven Trio for piano, flute and bassoon in G major
Beethoven Septet in E flat, Op. 20
Beethoven Quintet for piano and wind instruments in E flat major, Op. 16

London Philharmonic Orchestra YouTube Channel