Brahms’ Enticing Second Symphony

Effective Immediately, Place des Arts Suspends Activities until April 12.

An epic spirit directly from Russia will sweep through the Maison symphonique when Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto no. 1 is heard. The OSM will then transport you to Austria, where Brahms composed his picturesque Symphony no. 2. Spurred by the success of his First Symphony, Brahms began work on his Second, also garnering undeniable success. Greek violinist Leonidas Kavakos, whose international reputation is well-established, performs the Concerto in this program entirely under the baton of reputed conductor Susanna Mälkki.


Shostakovich, Violin Concerto no. 1 in A minor, op. 77

Brahms, Symphony no. 2 in D major, op. 73

Duration: 1h30

For information and tickets:  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112