Orchestre Métropolitain presents

Yannick Nézet-Séguin: Hymns of Praise

Jeremiah knows a calamity is coming but no one pays him heed and the inevitable happens. The prophet foresees the destruction of Jerusalem and vainly attempts to warn his people. That is the emotion that Bernstein so brilliantly conveys in his Symphony No. 1 “Jeremiah” with its Hebrew liturgical chants. The despair of the final movement, sung by Karina Gauvin, is particularly moving. In contrast, enthusiasm and exultation mark Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 2, also known as “Lobgesang” (Hymn of Praise). Conceived of as a symphony-cantata, it spotlights the Choeur Métropolitain and the exceptional voices of Karina Gauvin, Myriam Leblanc and Andrew Staples.

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor
Karina Gauvin et Myriam Leblanc, sopranos
Andrew Staples, tenor
Chœur Métropolitain: préparé par François A. Ouimet et Pierre Tourville

BERNSTEIN: Symphony No. 1 “ Jeremiahˮ
MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No 2 “Lobgesangˮ

Preconcert talks
Mario F. Paquet invites the public to discover the works on the program during a free 30-minute bilingual chat with the concert players.

Young Music Lovers Preludes
A musical performance by young musicians takes place in the Foyer Allegro 30 minutes before the beginning of each concert presented at the Maison symphonique de Montréal.

For information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112