Orchestre Métropolitain presents

Slavic Masterpieces

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Conductor
Camilla Nylund, Soprano
Julie Boulianne, Mezzo-Soprano
David Pomeroy, Tenor
Andrew Foster-Williams, Bass-Baritone
With the Chœur Métropolitain, prepared by François A. Ouimet and Pierre Tourville

Janáček: Glagolitic Mass
Dvořák: Symphony No. 6

Janáček sought to create a musical language that uses the rhythm and tones of the Czech language, and achieved this notably with the powerful Glagolitic Mass, a masterpiece of the choral repertoire. Celebrated Finnish soprano Camilla Nylund makes her debut with the Orchestre Métropolitain, accompanied by Canadians Julie Boulianne and David Pomeroy, not to mention the return of British bass-baritone Andrew Foster-Williams. The Chœur Métropolitain (which celebrates its 30 years this season) will be taking on the complex—and exciting!—challenge of honouring the composer. To complete this Slavic-themed program, we will perform Dvořák’s scintillating Symphony No.6.

For more information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com 514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts