Naples: The Sensual City


Francis Colpron, conductor, recorder and baroque flute
Femke Bergsma, recorder
Olivier Brault, baroque violin
Tania LaPerrière, baroque violin
Jacques-André Houle, baroque viola
Mélisande Corriveau, baroque cello
Pierre Cartier, double bass
Mark Edwards, harpsichordLes Boréades

Concertos for Recorder and for Cello by Durante, Fiorenza, and Pergolesi

The instrumental music written in Naples in the first half of the 18th century is not well known. Our ears have been charmed far more frequently by music from this period written by masters from northern Italy, and by Vivaldi in particular. Naples’ great importance in the world of opera has been known for a long time, but its composers also wrote concertos. These combine both vocalità, of which they were masters, with precise counterpoint, which would sound archaic if was not also unique in its harmonic sensuality. In some of these concertos, the cello has expressive lines fully worthy of its voice, while the recorder experiences some of the last high points of its entire repertoire.


Francesco Durante (1684-1755)
Concerto for strings and basso continuo  nº 7 in C major (manus., circa 1740)
Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736)
Concerto for flute, strings and basso continuo in G major (manus., s.d.)
Francesco Durante
Concerto for strings and basso continuo  nº 4 in e minor (manus., circa 1740)
Nicola Fiorenza (v.1700-1764)
Concerto for recorder, strings and basso continuo in a minor (manus., 1726)
Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
Sinfonia di concerto grosso nº 5 for two recorders, strings and basso continuo in d minor (manus., 1715)

Guided tour of the exhibition at 5 p.m. • Pompei Viva

For tickets and information:  514-285-2000

In collaboration with the Arte Musica Foundation in complement of the Pompei exhibition of the Montreal Museum of Fine Art