Juanjo Mena, conductor
Brian Manker, cell

Tchaikovsky Matinee

Presentation of the concert

Khachaturian, Concerto-Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra (approx. 25 min.)

Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 (approx. 50 min.)

Tchaikovsky’s fate-laden Fifth Symphony is music of hope, enlightenment and consolation, splendidly orchestrated by one of the great melodists of all time. Preceding it on the program is Khachaturian’s Concerto-Rhapsody for cello and orchestra, a highly virtuosic and expressive work written in 1963 for Mstislav Rostropovich. Here it is interpreted by the OSM’s principal cellist Brian Manker.

Thursday, March 26, 2015 – 10:30 AM

For tickets and information:  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts