Lawrence Foster, conductor
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

The Grand Return of a Star Cellist

Presentation of the concert
Malcolm Forsyth, Atayoskewin (approx. 20 min.)
Bloch, Schelomo (approx. 23 min.)
Enesco, Suite No. 3 in D major, Op. 27 (Villageoise) (approx. 29 min.)
Dukas, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (approx. 12 min.)

American conductor Lawrence Foster is known as a leading interpreter of the music of Georges Enesco. This composer’s Third Suite, evocative of Romanian village life, is a true masterpiece. Bloch’s Schelomo, inspired by the biblical King Solomon, is one of the most cherished works in a cellist’s solo repertory. The soloist is Alisa Weilerstein, equally at home as a soloist, chamber musician and specialist in modern music, and winner of the prestigious Genius Grant from the MacArthur Foundation in 2011. Also on the program is Dukas’ Sorcerer’s Apprentice, famously brought to the screen in Walt Disney’s Fantasia.

For tickets and information:  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts