Constantinople – Harant’s Odyssey

A musical journey into the world of Czech composer Kryštof Harant (1564-1621) and his travel book that details his odyssey from Prague to Jerusalem by way of Venice, Cyprus, Sinai and Cairo. The internationally renowned vocal ensemble Cappella Mariana and Constantinople join forces to revisit Harant’s music and the music he would have heard on his extraordinary 17th-century expedition.

Cappella Mariana is a vocal ensemble specializing in medieval and Renaissance polyphony and the vocal repertoire of Early Baroque. The performances of Capella Mariana have met with enthusiastic reception from the public and critics alike, the latter highlighting the ensemble’s expressive performance based on close attention paid to the text. Cappella Mariana was founded in 2008 as one of the few Czech ensembles focusing on the interpretation of high vocal polyphony, especially from Italian, Flemish, and English Renaissance.

The ensemble works under the artistic direction of Vojtěch Semerád. The members of the ensemble are internationally renowned vocal artists who also specialize in the interpretation of Baroque and pre-Romantic music. The ensemble regularly performs at music festivals and on prestigious stages both in the Czech Republic and elsewhere in Europe, including Oude Muziek Utrecht, MAfestival Brugge, Voices of Passion Leuven, Laus Polyphoniae Antwerpen, Klangvokal Dortmund, Prague Spring Festival, Innsbrucker Festwochen der Alte Musik, Tage Alter Musik Regensburg, St. Wenceslas Music Festival, and Concentus Moraviae. In 2014, Cappella Mariana made a significant contribution to the celebrations of the Czech Year of Music.

In 2021, the ensemble debuted at the Prague Spring Festival with a unique program “Kryštof Harant – Journey to the Holy Land” together with the Constantinople ensemble. With this project the ensemble embarks on its first overseas tour to Canada in December 2022.

Cappella Mariana (Czech Republic)
Vojtech Semerád, direction, tenor
Hana Blažíková, soprano
Barbora Kabátková, soprano
Vojtech Semerád, tenor
Tomáš Lajtkep, tenor
Ondrej Holub, tenor
Jaromír Nosek, bass
Kiya Tabassian, direction, setar et chant
Didem Basar, kanun
Patrick Graham, percussion
Sokratis Sinopoulos, kemençe

Saturday December 3, 2022 at 08:00 pm

Related Posts