Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) presents

From Mozart to Shostakovich: Humanity in Movement

Mozart visiting Paris during a European tour. Ravel dazzled by the excitement of North American life. Shostakovich witnessing the return of Russian soldiers in 1945. With joy, torment, and hope, three significant works bear witness to humanity in movement, facing the other, and searching for self-understanding. Closer to home, Quebec composer Simon Bertrand’s Weltengeist conveys the still world of confinement in an expression of strength and resilience. Under the direction of Canadian conductor Jordan de Souza, this inspiring program brilliantly showcases the OSM and Swiss pianist Francesco Piemontesi.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
Jordan de Souza, conductor

Hailed by the New York Times as part of “the new generation leading Berlin’s classical music scene”, Canadian conductor Jordan de Souza earned this distinction while serving as First Kapellmeister of the Komische Oper Berlin from 2017-2020. During this term, he collaborated with renowned director Barrie Kosky on four critically acclaimed new productions: Pelléas et Mélisande, La bohème, Weinberger’s Frühlingsstürme, and Candide. Debuts in the 20-21 season include the Bayerische Staatsoper (Munich), the Deutsche Oper Berlin, and Der Rosenkavalier at Garsington Opera with the Philharmonia Orchestra. Symphonic concerts include a return to the Orchestre symphonique et lyrique de Nancy (France), a debut with the Orchestre Symphonique de Québec in a programme of Tchaikovsky and Zemlinsky, and recordings with the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Born in Toronto, Jordan attended St. Michael’s Choir School and McGill University in Montreal. He made his conducting debut at age 20 with Bach’s St. John Passion and, following graduation, he joined the McGill music faculty from 2011 to 2015. He also served as Conductor in Residence of Tapestry Opera in Toronto, developing and conducting the world premieres of three full-length operas. At the age of 19, he was the youngest to earn the Fellowship Degree from the Royal Canadian College of Organists.

Francesco Piemontesi, piano

Francesco Piemontesi is a pianist of exceptional refinement of expression, which is allied to a consummate technical skill. Widely renowned for his interpretation of Mozart and the early Romantic repertoire, Piemontesi’s pianism and sensibility has a close affinity too with the later 19th century and 20th century repertoire of Brahms, Liszt, Dvořák, Ravel, Debussy, Bartók and beyond. Of one of his great teachers and mentors, Alfred Brendel, Piemontesi says that Brendel taught him “to love the detail of things.”

Piemontesi has performed at the Salzburg, Lucerne, Edinburgh, Verbier and Aix-en-Provence Festivals, La Roque d’Anthéron, Schleswig-Holstein and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festivals and at New York Mostly Mozart.

Born in Locarno, Francesco Piemontesi studied with Arie Vardi before working with Alfred Brendel, Murray Perahia, Cécile Ousset and Alexis Weissenberg. He rose to international prominence with prizes at several major competitions, including the 2007 Queen Elisabeth Competition, and between 2009-11 he was chosen as a BBC New Generation Artist. Since 2012, Piemontesi has been the Artistic Director of the Settimane Musicali di Ascona.

Mozart, Symphony no. 31 in D major, K. 297/300a, “Paris” (17 min.)
Ravel, Piano Concerto in G major (23 min.)
Simon Bertrand, Weltengeist [Spirit of the World] (10 min.) – World premiere, OSM commission
Shostakovich, Symphony no. 9 in E-flat major, op. 70 (27 min.)

Maison Symphonique
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 7:30pm
Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 10:30am

To purchase your tickets visit: www.osm.ca