Wigmore Hall presents

Pavel Kolesnikov, piano

In Memory of Marcel Proust

Recipient of the 2019 UK Critics’ Circle Young Talent Award for piano, the former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist is amply fulfilling the promise of earlier appearances such as his acclaimed Wigmore debut in 2014. His latest return comes with a personally selected program inspired by the musical tastes of one of the greatest novelists, whose work makes frequent and specific reference to individual composers and individual pieces.

In 2012 pianist Pavel Kolesnikov became a sensation at the Honens International Piano Competition when he took home the world’s largest piano prize. The London-based pianist was born in Siberia into a family of scientists. He studied both the piano and violin for ten years, before concentrating solely on the piano. Following his Wigmore Hall debut in 2014, The Telegraph gave his recital a rare five-star review and called it “one of the most memorable of such occasions London has witnessed for a while”.

Celebrated for his imaginative, thought-provoking programming which offers the listener a fresh, often unexpected perspective on familiar pieces, Pavel has given recitals at the Wigmore Hall and Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, as part of the international Piano Series, Carnegie Hall and Berlin’s Konzerthaus, Louvre and Salle Gaveau in Paris, Suntory Hall in Tokyo and Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam. In recent years he also performed at La Roque d’Antheron festival, the Musiq3 Festival in Brussels, Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse, and the Aldeburgh Festival, among others. In 2020/21 he is Artist in Residence at Wigmore Hall performing three recitals throughout the season.

Schubert (1797-1828)
Fantasy Sonata in G D894I. Molto moderato e cantabile

Louis Couperin (1626-1661)
Unmeasured Prelude in G minor

Reynaldo Hahn (1874-1947)
Le rossignol éperdu Les deux écharpes

Atzenbrugger Tanz in A D365 No. 30

Reynaldo Hahn
Premières valses Ninette
Valse noble

Waltz in B minor D145 No. 6

Reynaldo Hahn
Premières valses La Feuille

Reynaldo Hahn
Le rossignol éperdu Narghilé

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Nocturne No. 12 in E minor Op. 107

Louis Couperin
Sarabande in A minor


César Franck (1822-1890)
Prélude, choral et fugue

Reynaldo Hahn
Le rossignol éperdu Ouranos

Fantasy Sonata in G D894II. Andante
III. Menuetto. Allegro moderato – Trio
IV. Allegretto

Thursday, February 3, 2022
Live stream starts at 3:00pm EST / 8:00pm GMT
The video will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the broadcast.

To enjoy this concert visit: www.wigmore-hall.org.uk

Related Posts