Orchestre classique de Montréal (OCM) presents


Our musical tour of the world continues in Austria with the genius Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Renowned Quebec pianist Jean-Philippe Sylvestre will shine in Piano Concerto No. 23, and the OCM will embellish the evening with the Divertimento K. 136. To complete the evening, a symphony concertante by the Chevalier de Saint-Georges, a contemporary of Mozart’s of African descent from Guadeloupe.

Jean-Philippe Sylvestre, Pianist

Jean-Philippe Sylvestre is the laureate of the prestigious Virginia Parker Prize 2008, the highest distinction from the Canada Council for the Arts. In 2000 at the age of 17, pianist Jean-Philippe Sylvestre won first prize at the prestigious Montreal Symphony Orchestra Competition, as well as the People’s Choice Award at the same competition. He is also laureate of the Young Performer Competition and Concertino Praga International Competition. He was three times recipient of the 1st prize at the Canadian music competition, and at one of these occasions, was the recipient of the highest score of the entire competition. He performs regularly as a soloist and recitalist across Canada, United States, South America and Europe. In 2014, he was pianist for the the Grands Ballets Canadien in Montreal. He his the recipient of the studio-prize residency in Paris 2016 from the Quebec Council for the art. Famous conductor Yannick Nézet Séguin qualifies Jean-Philippe Sylvestre as a poet of the piano.

Mr. Sylvestre has appeared at the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam, the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris, the Salle Wilfrid Pelletier and Salle Pierre-Mercure in Montreal, the Glenn Gould Studio and the Georges Weston Hall in Toronto, the Fundação de Educação Artística in Belo Horizonte, Brasil, and the National Art Centre of Ottawa. In summer 2016, he was invited by Kent Nagano to perform in his «Virée classique» hosted by Montreal Symphony Orchestra. In 2014, he performed Rachmaninov 3rd piano concerto with Longueuil Symphony Orchestra as well as two recitals at the Montreal Conservatory of Music. In July 2011, he performed two concerts with the Orchestre Métropolitain conducted by Yannick Nézet Séguin to critical acclaim by both the public and critics alike. In 2009, he gave concerts in Santa Barbara, in Berlin as well as in Toronto where he performed a private recital for the honorable Adrienne Clarkson, general governor of Canada.

Boris Brott & Xavier Brossard-Ménard, Conductors

Divertimento in D major, K. 136 – W. A. Mozart
Symphony Concertante in G major, op. 13 – J. B. Chevalier de St-Georges
Piano Concerto No. 23, K. 488 – W. A. Mozart

The concert will be livestreamed on Tuesday April 27, at 7:30pm from the Pierre-Mercure Hall and will be available for on-demand viewing until May 11, at 10:00pm.

To purchase your virtual ticket visit: www.orchestre.ca

Related Posts