BSO Encore Performances from Tanglewood
Beethoven Symphony No. 9

Hosted by Jamie Bernstein

For decades, the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s Tanglewood season has concluded with a joyous performance of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9. This concert features the orchestra’s most recent performance of that iconic work, led by frequent BSO guest conductor Giancarlo Guerrero and featuring four outstanding American soloists along with, as always, our own Tanglewood Festival Chorus. Best known for its glorious theme-and-variations finale setting Friedrich Schiller’s “Ode to Joy,” the Ninth Symphony was Beethoven’s final completed orchestral score, a work whose extraordinary emotional power and innovative artistry is still compelling in 2020 as we celebrate Beethoven’s 250th anniversary year.

Featured Performers & Ensembles
Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor
Nicole Cabell, soprano
J’Nai Bridges, mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Phan, tenor
Morris Robinson, bass
Tanglewood Festival Chorus
James Burton

Available August 23, 2020 at 2:30pm through August 30, 2020

Related Posts