Orchestre Métropolitain presents

Mozart Larger-than-Life

Quebec composer Jacques Hétu’s Symphony No. 5 for chorus and orchestra takes us to Paris before, during and after the Second World War, then solemnly concludes with a setting of Éluard’s famous poem Liberté. Mozart’s wife, Constanze, was particularly fond of fugues and counterpoint, those melodies that intertwine, calling back and forth as if to chase each other. It was for her that Mozart composed his Great Mass in C minor, as he was exploring the vocal music of Bach and Handel. The influences of those composers can be felt in this imposing work performed by the Chœur Métropolitain and four renowned soloists under the baton of Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor
Carolyn Sampson, soprano
Julie Boulianne, mezzo-soprano
Jonas Hacker, tenor
Philippe Sly, bass-baritone
Chœur Métropolitain: prepared by François A. Ouimet and Pierre Tourville

HÉTU : Symphony No. 5
MOZART : Great Mass in C minor

Duration: first act 48 min, intermission 20 min, second act 56 min

For information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112