Orchestre Métropolitain presents

The New World Symphony

The vast expanses of America, the First Nations and African-American cultures and the ideal of equal opportunity impressed and inspired Dvořák when he lived in New York City in the late 1800s. Surprising rhythms, concise, recurring, attention-grabbing melodies and a certain clarity of voice have made the Symphony No. 9 “From the New World” a timeless classic. With its simple, optimistic music that embodies rural American values, in particular gratitude and freedom, the suite from the ballet Appalachian Spring leaps straight into Copland’s “Americana” style. Soloist Mélanie Harel premieres the English Horn Concerto by Métis-Canadian composer Karen Sunabacka, whose music is notable for its poetry and charm, under the baton of the charismatic Alondra de la Parra.

COPLAND: Appalachian Spring, Suite
K. SUNABACKA: English Horn Concerto (premiere)
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”

For information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts