Orchestre symphonique de Montréal presents

Denis Matsuev plays Prokofiev

Hailed for his impressive virtuosity, pianist Denis Matsuev returns to the OSM to perform Prokofiev’s formidable Piano Concerto no. 2. Completing this Russian program is a sampling of young Shostakovich’s dark humour and a selection of excerpts from Mussorgsky’s opera Khovanshchina, a historical drama originally scored for voice and piano and subsequently orchestrated by Shostakovich in 1959. Immerse yourself in the Russian soul!

Shostakovich, Symphony no. 1 in F minor, op. 10 (approx. 28 min.)
Prokofiev, Piano Concerto no. 2 in G minor, op. 16 (approx. 31 min.)
​Mussorgsky, Khovanshchina (4 excerpts) (approx. 20 min.)

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
James Conlon, conductor
Denis Matsuev, piano

For more information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com 514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112