The Night’s Whims

Anthony Marwood and Les Violons du Roy continue their exploration of the finest pearls of the string repertoire with three masterpieces, including Schönberg’s Verklärte Nacgt, a powerful and virtuosic evocation of a dialogue between two lovers.

R. STRAUSS String Sextet from Capriccio, Op. 85
W.A. MOZART Quintet in G Minor, K. 516
A. SCHÖNBERG Verklärte Nacht (adapted for string orchestra)

Anthony Marwood, conductor and violin
British violinist Anthony Marwood is known worldwide as an artist of exceptional expressive force, with an effortless technique and beautiful tone. His energetic and collaborative nature places him in great demand as soloist/director with chamber orchestras worldwide.

Les Violons Du Roy
The chamber orchestra Les Violons du Roy takes its name from the renowned string orchestra of the court of the French kings. The group, which has a core membership of fifteen players, was brought together in 1984 by founding conductor Bernard Labadie and specializes in the vast repertoire of music for chamber orchestra, performed in the stylistic manner most appropriate to each era. Although the ensemble plays on modern instruments, its approach to the works of the Baroque and Classical periods has been strongly influenced by current research into performance practice in the 17th and 18th centuries; in this repertoire Les Violons du Roy uses copies of period bows. The orchestra also regularly delves into the repertoire of the 19th and 20th centuries, as witnessed by its recordings of works by Piazzolla, Bartók, and Britten.

For tickets and information:   514-285-2000

Related Posts